brosvorti.blogg.se

Istat menus temperatures macbook pro fan control
Istat menus temperatures macbook pro fan control










istat menus temperatures macbook pro fan control
  1. Istat menus temperatures macbook pro fan control drivers#
  2. Istat menus temperatures macbook pro fan control update#
  3. Istat menus temperatures macbook pro fan control software#
  4. Istat menus temperatures macbook pro fan control windows#

The GPU went to ~20W under 3 different conditions the the 2019 Macbook Pro 16": I did some more testing with the power meter. To switch Macbook Pro’s, I swap the dock’s usb-c cable from one Macbook Pro to the other. Right now all my peripherals either connect to my CalDigit dock( which I bypassed during testing ) or my Display’s USB port. My workspace setup is shared between my Macbook Pro and my employer’s Macbook Pro since I’m working from home these days.

Istat menus temperatures macbook pro fan control update#

So I would need a 3rd party tool such as SwitchResX.įor my use case, either the Catalina driver update or the purchase of USB-C displays would be the easiest. I noted that for my displays, Catalina doesn’t expose refresh rates when using the option + scaled method of view display configurations. A few people suggested using third party utilities to change the refresh rate from default 30Hz to 60Hz. I can share the thread here, it’s about 45 pages of posts, so it isn’t a quick read.

Istat menus temperatures macbook pro fan control drivers#

Radeon Driver Update - On forums, people smarter than me analyzed the Radeon drivers and settings and they believe the issue is with the driver, which Apple has not updated (according to file date ) since Catalina’s initial release.The Macbook Pro stays at 41C no matter what applications I’m running when using only the built-in display. This would definitely solve the heating issue as I tested it. For posture and vision( I wear glasses ) reasons, I’d need a stand to hold the Macbook Pro up to the correct eye level and distance from my eyes. For this, I’d need to change my workflows from dual 27" to fit a single 16" display. A native USB-C display would remove that as a possible issue. The adapters may be increasing power draw and therefore also increase heat. Native USB-C Display - None of my displays have USB-C ports, so I have to use adapters to connect them to my Macbook Pro.eGPU - offload the driving of external displays to an external card.Solutions that might exist but I can’t test because I don’t possess the hardware or Apple has to create a fix or because they don’t fit my requirements. Basically, anything that plays video will turn my Macbook Pro into a pizza oven. They all cause my Macbook Pro’s temperature to go into orbit. I also tested with video conferencing applications such as Webex and MS Teams. The same goes for any media player, aka VLC, that I might be using. Browser apps like Slack or Chrome will generally be right next to Window Server.

Istat menus temperatures macbook pro fan control windows#

Generally Windows Server and whichever app I playing video with. It’s always the same applications using the most CPU.

Istat menus temperatures macbook pro fan control software#

I’ve gotten the fans and temp under control with iStat Menus and Turbo Boost Switcher Pro.Īfter 5-6 hours of testing and research with every combination of monitor, cable, adapter, and connection configuration and display settings configuration that you could think of, I’ve concluded that there isn’t a solution using the hardware and software that I currently own. How do view power draw? I have iStats but don’t see power usage mention anywhere.This is important as some have theorized that the real issue is that certain models of displays draw too much power, leading to the temperature to increase.Would using an eGPU to drive external displays help? If the heat issue is due to the internal Radeon GPU, then I would think offloading to an external GPU would fix it.Would using an USB-C external display with native support help? ie a display the does not require an adapter.with 1+ external displays, all displays ( no just external) were using Radeon GPU. With no external display, built-in was using Intel UHD GPU.Adding a 2nd external display ( Dell P2715Q ) Bumped the temperature up to ~65C, I didn’t record the fan.So plug on in on the left and one the right side of the laptop. Apple recommends putting external displays on separate usb-c busses.The idle temperature with HDMI->USBC connected external display is ~61C 3000rpm.The idle temperature with DP->USBC connected external display is ~60C 3000rpm.The idle temperature with no external display is ~41C Fan 1800rpm.No-name Displayport -> USB-C cable ( straight cable, no adapter in between ).

istat menus temperatures macbook pro fan control

Monoprice Mini Displayport -> USB-C Adapter.The display doesn’t have USB-C, so I cycled Displayport and HDMI using adapters. I did testing with my 16" 2019 Macbook Pro 2.4Ghz i9/radeon 4gb/32gb ram, usingĭell U2718Q display. I can’t hear music, video calls, or anything else over the fans, so it’s a stops my work at that point.

istat menus temperatures macbook pro fan control

Problem: 16" Macbook Pro gets excessively hot when using external display.ĭetails: Macbook Pro temperature exceeds 65C when one or more external displays are connected.












Istat menus temperatures macbook pro fan control